Print | Return to normal version


Previous | Next | All Works

Small Orchestra or chamber ensemble: 1111 - 1000 - 4 vln.2 vla.2 vlc.db

Duration (approx)   20 minutes
Composed   2000, revised 2007
Publisher   Faber Music

Faber Music

First performance   19th February 2002
Venue   Queen Elizabeth Hall, London
Orchestra / Ensemble   London Chamber Orchestra
Conductor   Christopher Warren-Green

Single movement


Richard Whitehouse, Classical Source

Brown has been careful to assemble the basic symphonic constituents with a view to their intimating but not confirming the 'classical' format. The result is a 21-minute piece of subtle and affecting contrasts, evoking composers as diverse as Stravinsky, Nielsen and Lennox Berkeley, but with a formal ingenuity and thematic profile that are already personal.... the sensitivity with which Brown handles his forces was never in doubt.

Programme Notes

The Sinfonietta contains the basic ingredients of a Symphony - viz. an Allegro, a Scherzo, a slow movement and a final Allegro. In this case, these elements are compressed into a one-movement form and the final Allegro is a recapitulation of the first, albeit with considerable variation. There is also a short fugue, for strings alone, between the opening Allegro and the Scherzo, which consolidates the musical ideas used throughout the piece.

Related News

World Premiere: Sinfonietta

Tuesday 19th February 2002

Works:  Sinfonietta

Homepage | Biography | Works | Festivals | Special Projects | News | Gallery | Contact

Copyright on all site content held by James Francis Brown © 2024

eyelash extensions st john's nl how to remove glue in hair extensions yourself latex dress bellatique hair body wave permanent hair straightening price men latex she hair weave review auburn hair extensions uk latex dresses uk